The Congressional Vision Caucus (CVC) is a bipartisan coalition of Congressional Members dedicated to strengthening and stimulating a national dialogue and policy on vision-related problems and disabilities. Prevent Blindness was instrumental in the initial formation of the caucus and works closely with its members today.

The CVC, co-chaired by Rep. Gene Green (D-TX), Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), Rep. David Price (D-NC), and Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH), has three priority areas of focus: research, prevention/public health, and access to treatment and rehabilitation.

The CVC Mission Statement

The mission of the CVC is to set forth a national vision strategy to raise awareness about the increasing number of Americans at risk for age-related diseases; provide better understanding of the personal risk of vision loss and stress the importance of necessary steps to preserve and protect eyesight; inform communities so that they may prepare the treatment and rehabilitation services that will be needed; educate Members of Congress so they comprehend the scope of eye problems in our country; and ensure adequate resources are directed towards the research, prevention and treatment of eye disease.


Rep. Gene Green
Rep. Gene Green
Rep. David Price
Rep. David Price
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Rep. Steve Stivers
Rep. Steve Stivers


Caucus Members

Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)

Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL)

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)

Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA)

Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA)

Rep. André Carson (D-IN)  

Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH) 

Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA)

Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)

Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD)

Rep. Danny K. Davis (D-IL)

Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)

Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)  

Rep. John Duncan (R-TN)

Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY)

Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)

Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH)

Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)

Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY)

Rep. Ruben Hinojosa (D-TX)

Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-02)

Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY)

Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)

Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)

Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH)

Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)

Rep. Walter B. Jones (R-NC)

Rep. David Joyce (R-OH)

Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)


Rep. Joe P. Kennedy (D-MA)

Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)

Rep. Steve King (R-IA)

Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)

Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)

Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA)

Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY)

Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK)

Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)

Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA)

Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)

Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)

Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-NJ)

Rep. Donald Payne (D-NJ)

Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN)

Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI)

Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY)

Rep. Bobby L. Rush (D-IL)

Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)

Rep. David Scott (D-GA)

Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)

Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)

Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID)

Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)

Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)

Rep. Patrick Tiberi (R-OH)

Rep. Michael R. Turner (R-OH)

Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY)