About the Award

The Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health is presented annually to an individual, team, or organization that has made significant contributions to the advancement of public health related to vision and eye health at the community, state, national and/or international level. Among the highest honors Prevent Blindness bestows, this prestigious award consists of formal acknowledgement and a commemorative plaque to be presented at the Focus on Eye Health National Summit in Washington, DC on June 28, 2017.  It further comes with an invitation to present on this work as the closing plenary speaker of the Summit.  The award serves as a living memorial to Jenny Pomeroy, who served as the CEO of Prevent Blindness Georgia from 1996 until 2013 and brought a passionate understanding of public health to her work and our mission. 

2016 Award Winner

Bruce Moore, O.D.
Bruce Moore, O.D.

Bruce Moore, OD, is the 2016 recipient of the Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health.  Dr. Moore is currently the Marcus Professor of Pediatric Studies at the New England College of Optometry, Co-Chair of the Children’s Vision Massachusetts Coalition, and member of the Technical Advisory Committee of the National Center for Children’s Vision and Eye Health. Dr. Moore has a distinguished career in children’s vision; his bio provides further details of his many accomplishments.

Past Recipients

2015 - Rick Bunner

2014 – Prevent Blindness Georgia


Nomination Criteria:

An individual, team, or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the field of public health and vision and eye health at a community, state, national, and/or international level. If awarded, the nominee must be available to present at the 2017 Focus on Eye Health National Summit in Washington, DC on June 28, 2017 to receive the award. Travel expenses will be covered from anywhere in the United States (if international, note Prevent Blindness will reimburse airfare up to $600).

What to Include in Your Submission:

  • Nomination form
  • A 500-word (or less) description of why the nominee is deserving of this award.  Descriptions should be concise and specific and clearly demonstrate the nominee’s commitment to vision and eye health and public health along with the number of years the nominee has been working in the area of vision and public health.
  • A one-page biographical sketch (or vita) of the nominee  or one-page background of the team/organization
  • In addition to the above information, you may also provide any additional materials you feel are relevant to the nomination (please limit this to less than 10 pages).
  • Please note: Submissions not adhering to the above submission guidelines (page limits, word count, etc.) will not be reviewed.

Email the items listed above with the subject “Jenny Pomeroy Award” to Nita Patel Sinha, Director of Public Health at npatelsinha@preventblindness.org. The submission deadline for the 2017 award is January 20, 2017 at noon, Eastern Time.